A new venture

signs

 

 

Hello everyone!

To those who were reading and keeping up with my blog – I know it’s been far too long since I’ve posted.  I appreciate all of you, and want to let you know: it’s not YOU – it’s ME!  🙂

The last year has been so very full it’s amazing.  I’ve spent far too much time over the last year in doctors’ offices, taking trips to the ER – not the best times I can remember.

My family is so blessed that six months ago we welcomed my little baby niece.  She is the most amazing creature.  That’s it.  There are no adequate words for how much I love her.  Definitely the highlight of this last year. 🙂

So, what was the impetus for returning?  A little background: While a definite diagnosis is still pending for my health, I can safely say it’s something unpleasant in my abdominal area.  If you’ve ever had that horrific abdominal pain that makes you curl up with a pillow – and from which you get no relief at times – worry sets in, so I’m glad to report that tumors/cancer have been ruled out.  YAY!!!

One of my tactics is working with a holistic nutritionist.  She’s just lovely; Very thorough and competent.

What does this have to do with my blog, you ask?  She has me doing an elimination diet.  Probably the most extreme version I’ve heard of thus far, in order to determine food allergies/sensitivities that may be bothering my digestive tract, and to eat the proper foods needed to promote healing.

It’s a 30 day diet; here’s what must be eliminated:

  • Eggs & citrus fruits (for the first two weeks only)
  • Gluten/Grains: This includes rice, oatmeal, millet, quinoa (sniff, sniff)
  • Dairy
  • Beans/legumes
  • Corn
  • Soy
  • Nuts/seeds: This includes nut butters and milks
  • Nightshades: Boy, gotta love this category!  Tomatoes, peppers (hot and sweet; includes no paprika or cayenne), white/yellow potatoes and eggplant
  • Sugar (except fruit)

***

There you have it!  What’s a chef to do?  Get creative – inspired!  Thusly the lack of sleep as I research recipes!

I need YOU!  Have any of you had experience with this sort of diet?  Post!!  Tips, recipes, suggestions, thoughts!  I want the next few weeks to be creative and inspirational – not just eating carrots for a meal (though it may happen now and then…just sayin’!).  Give me your feedback, let me know what you’re thinking.  Having people to cook for (so to speak) will make this so much easier!

One of the biggest reasons I love cooking and baking is being able to take a dietary challenge and throwdown!  No sugar?  No gluten?  No PROBLEM!  This’ll be a bigger challenge, but I’m totally up for it!  Feeling better is the best incentive of all.

I won’t be starting this diet for a few days, as I’m compiling recipes and will make a massive shopping trip…to our new Whole Foods that’s opening up!!

Part of this diet will be having smoothies more often – and possibly juices.  I’m new to drinking greens, so let me know if you have any advice or great recipes.

I’m so excited to see your responses!

Love and health,

Katy

This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A new venture

  1. Jen Long says:

    Come live with me and we can eat carrots together lol

    This is almost the same as the elimination diet I was on for 2 months (and am supposed to be back on now) but being vegetarian cut out all meats as well. I turned out to be especially bothered by dairy and eggs but also allergic to soy, corn, oats and wheat. I ate a lot of veggies soups and simple stir fries while doing the strict diet. Also, sweet potato with coconut oil, cinnamon and diced apples then baked. Very yummy.

    Good luck and I hope it gives you some answers. Keep me posted. Love you!

  2. Yeastrol says:

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after browsing through some of the articles I
    realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m certainly happy I stumbled
    upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

