Welcome, November!

fall

How did it become November so suddenly?  It astonishes me…I have been quite remiss in posting recipes and such.  Using the word tumultuous to describe my summer is quite the understatement.  Throw in a sliced finger, bronchitis, spraining my arm…life is always interesting!

On the plus side, I am holding myself to one new creation each week…which may not sound like a lot, but doing that in between working and attempting to sneak in a few minutes for myself – well, I’m rather proud!  Doing that seems to spark my creativity!

So – let’s get this party started by welcoming November with some delicious cookies!  I made these today.  Gluten free.  Yes – that’s right.  Due to family and colleagues who eat GF most of my weekly creations have been as such, but I’m not limiting myself to that, and I still bake low-fat whenever possible (for me).

Before we get started, do yourself a huge favor and go buy an oven thermometer.  They’re inexpensive and one of the best items you can have.  Before you make these, go set your oven to 350° and make sure it actually is 350 (instead of 300…or 450….baking is always interesting).

Today was Toffee Crisps from the Land O’ Lakes website.  The ingredients were readily available at the market, and the recipe simple.

However.  (You knew that was coming, admit it!)

I made a few tweaks and they turned out very well, so here is the recipe with my changes.

Gluten Free Flour Mix (as found on the site)

2 C. White rice flour (The recipe doesn’t specify white, that’s what I used)

2/3 C. Potato starch

1/3 C. Tapioca flour

1 tsp. Xanthan gum

 

Toffee Crisps

1 C. (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1/2 C. each white sugar and brown sugar (I use cane sugar and lightly pack the brown sugar)

1 egg

1/2 tsp. Almond extract

2 C. Gluten free flour

1 tsp. Baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 C. Quick-cooking oats

1 C. dried cherries, roughly chopped

1 C. Toffee bits

Salted pistachios, finely chopped

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°

1.  Cream butter and sugars until well blended; Add extract and egg and mix well (scrape bottom of bowl and mix again).

2.  Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl.  Add to the butter mixture in two parts, mixing well with each addition (the dough will be pretty stiff).  Mix in the cherries and toffee.

3.  Scoop by tablespoonfuls onto a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Bake for 11-13 minutes, until lightly browned around the edges.

4.  As soon as you remove the pan from the oven, gently press a sprinkling of pistachios onto the top of each cookie.  Feel free to add more than you think necessary, as some will fall off.

5.  Cool for 5 minutes on the cookie sheet, then move to a rack to cool completely.

The texture is somewhat reminiscent of a shortbread cookie – it would be really good with some milk!

Notes

  • If you use a scoop for these, they will be a little tall (like a chocolate covered cherry); pat them down and out a bit so they’ll become a bit wider when baked. If you use a tablespoon, they will already be wide enough.  If it doesn’t matter – don’t worry.  🙂
  • I reduced the sugar in the recipe because too much sugar will cause the cookies to spread too much.  I knew these wouldn’t have much of a ‘puff’ factor and didn’t want them too thin or too sweet (because of the toffee).  Perfect!
  • The original recipe called for chocolate and white chocolate bark drizzled on top but, again – I didn’t want it too sweet.  Same reason I reduced the amount of toffee (and opted not to use chocolate toffee pieces).
  • The recipe didn’t call for nuts, but the salted pistachios are very complimentary!  Not a fan of nuts?  Top with a sprinkle of pink Himalayan sea salt!
  • I used one 5 ounce bag of dried cherries, which (when chopped) ended up about a tablespoon short of one cup.  Don’t sweat it – it’ll be fine.  🙂
  • If you use aluminum foil, use nonstick spray; no need if you use parchment paper.
  • I used the Land O’ Lakes recipe just because – no endorsement of their product here.  I didn’t even use their butter!  ;P

Here’s a tray of the lovely delights!

Unbleached parchment paper!  I love it!

Crispy and delicious!

I hope you enjoy these!  I’ve been feeling inspired lately, so I hope to post a lot more!

Happy Autumn!

Katy

 

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome, November!

  1. Karen says:

    Oh my these sound totally delicious, can’t wait to try them out. Of course your yummy tweaks make them so much better, in fact, you are my favorite tweaker!

Leave a Reply

