Book update

bookHello, everyone!  Yes, I’m still here!!  I know I haven’t posted in many weeks – life seems to have taken over.  I’m trying to work, test recipes for my blog and not get home from work and fall asleep.  Still working on finding that balance.  🙂

I wanted to update you with some of the books I’ve read since the beginning of this year.  Most of them were books on CD, as I love to make use of my time driving to and from work!

 

The Falls, by Joyce Carol Oates

I never actually finished this book, but wanted to share my opinion of it anyway.  I got it as a book on CD to enjoy during my ride to and from work and thought I’d enjoy it.  The premise: In the 1950s, a minister’s daughter narrowly escapes spinsterhood (She’s not even 30!  Really!) by marrying a minister.  They’re not in love, but they marry anyway.  On their honeymoon, he ends his life and apparently the rest of the book is about her finding true love, marrying and so forth.  Their lovely life together apparently starts to unravel throughout the years.

It sounded interesting!  I could not make it through this one.  I think there are 12 CDs and I didn’t even make it through 2.  There seemed to be so much writing that was just unnecessary, if that makes any sense.  It felt very monotonous as well.  Also, I know everyone performs a reading differently, so perhaps it’s just that the style with which this was done didn’t suit me.

The Litigators, by John Grisham

Another book on CD!  There are several John Grisham books I have enjoyed, so I was pleased to give this one a try.  I actually finished this one, but was disappointed with the story.

The Finley & Figg partners seem to be lawyers who want to do as little work for as much money as possible.  When a potential class-action suit is stumbled upon, it seems their perfect solution: They get time in the courtroom, media attention and, of course, a big payoff.

The main characters seemed (Oscar Finley and Walter Figg) seem extremely one-dimensional with very little character development.  The only character who is interesting at all is David Zinc, an attorney who walks away from his current job and into Finley & Figg.  The book touched upon some personal moments in David’s life, which is nice.

There seemed to be no real resolution to anything.  Because I liked other Grisham books so much, I’ll give another one a chance sometime, but really didn’t care for this one.

Totlandia: The Onesies, Book 1 by Josie Brown

This was very interesting.  Totlandia is a series that revolves around the superficial quality of people.  In San Francisco, the Pacific Heights Moms & Tots Club is the club for babies to join.  Yes, babies – apparently you can’t start hanging with the who’s who at too early an age!  Only traditional families are allowed: Mothers only.  No working mothers, no divorced parents, no fathers.  Bettina Cross has established this club and she puts the members through various tests to prove their worthiness.

This first book introduces several characters, and the stories are written from their different perspectives:

Jade is a former stripper absent from her son’s life, who is now being paid by her son’s father to act as a proper mother.  This will hopefully secure the little one a position in the prestigious club.

Ally became a mother through a sperm donor and can’t allow Bettina to know that she is actually a powerful executive.

Lorna (Bettina’s sister-in-law) fears her little angel might have a disorder of sorts.  She tries to keep this hidden for fear of losing a coveted spot in the club!

There are more candidates, all with their own unique situation.  I was fascinated by certain things (designer babywear?!) and the obvious materialism this story touched upon.

While it wasn’t my favorite book, I was left wondering about the fate of the characters and their kids.  Should I see the sequel, I’ll pick it up!

The Ivy Chronicles, by Karen Quinn

This was another unique plot!  While accustomed to the good life, Ivy Ames suddenly finds her world falling apart: An unfaithful husband, no job, no means with which to support her girls.

Ivy is well-affiliated with the upper echelon of New York, and starts a business using what she knows: Tutoring parents on how to get their children into the most prestigious kindergarten available.

She runs into many different characters (from overbearing parents to a sweet Knishery owner).  Ivy faces challenges of morality, parenthood, and trying to keep her sanity.  I enjoyed it!  I’ll get another one of her books!

The Housewife Assassin’s Handbook, by Josie Brown

I think this is my favorite book out of all the ones I’ve listed!  While dealing with raising children, organizing schedules, and everything else that makes up being a mother, Donna Stone has another job:  Assassin for an elusive company.

I don’t want to give too much away about this, so I’ll just say that it’s funny with good dialogue!  I really enjoyed it and will definitely be reading the sequels…That’s right, there’s more than one book to follow!

I’ll be back with more book reviews.  In the meantime, let me know if you have any book suggestions or blog topics for me!

Katy

 

This entry was posted in Books, Read, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

