PORTable Apple Crisp

Apples

While I love experimenting with new recipes, many of my favorite desserts are comforting and homey.  Apple crisp is one of them!  Flavorful and – well, crispy, it’s definitely one of my favorites!

I’ve made this many times, but think I’ve stumbled upon a particularly delicious recipe of late.  The addition of some Port wine provides a wonderful depth of flavor.  Hence the blog title!  Directions are below!

Yield: 4 VERY generous servings

I like to make these in individual ramekins…because who doesn’t love their own dish of warm, bubbly, crumbly dessert?! My ramekins are about 4 oz., but you can easily make this in a larger dish.

Ingredients

3 medium apples (I like a mixture of tart and sweet), peeled, cored and chopped into bite sized pieces

2 tsp. lemon juice (or any acid you have – orange juice works just as well)

3 Tbs. cane sugar

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

Pinch of salt

2 Tbs. Ruby port wine

Streusel topping

2 Tbs. unsalted butter

Pinch of salt

2 Tbs. each:

All purpose flour

Brown sugar

Oatmeal

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8-1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg (according to taste, nutmeg can be strong)

Directions

Preheat oven to 375°.  Spray ramekins with nonstick cooking spray.

In a bowl, combine apple pieces and lemon juice; toss together to prevent apples from browning.

Add port to apples, coating well.  Add sugar, salt and spices to apples, mix to combine.

Divide evenly among the ramekins, then make the topping!  It’s so easy!

Combine flour, brown sugar, oatmeal, salt & spices.  Finally, add in the butter and, using a fork, cut it in until it the butter is slightly smaller than pea-size – you don’t want it to mix in entirely, because the cold butter helps create a crispy topping.  Keep the butter in the cooler until the last minute, it needs to be as cold as possible to prevent it from melting as you cut it into the flour mixture.

Here’s a picture of the topping after mixing:

Streusel



Divide the topping amongst the ramekins, and it’s ok if there’s some flour that wasn’t completely incorporated with the butter, just sprinkle that on the apples.

Bake for 20 minutes, until the top looks crispy and the apples are bubbling.  They’ll still have some crunch to them, which I like, but if you prefer them otherwise, leave them in longer (about 5 minutes).  Remember, though, that they will continue to cook a little as they cool.  Doesn’t it look scrumptious?

Crisp
This is absolutely divine with frozen yogurt (and just a weeee sprinkling of cinnamon & sugar on top!), and I prefer it a tad warm.  Oh, and I highly recommend keeping some Port wine on hand, it works well for this recipe,  poaching fruit and makes a lovely reduction for steak. It won’t go to waste!

This was mine, topped with nonfat vanilla frozen yogurt and lowfat cherry frozen yogurt….I’m so glad I took the picture…I think this lasted until I sat down, but I’m not sure!

Crisp2
I really hope you try this and love it as much as I do!

Katy

This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

