Go Bananas!

You'll go bananas for my new recipe!

You’ll go bananas for my new recipe!

Well, after far too much time away from my blog, I’m back!  I’m hoping 2014 will find me posting a lot more delicious recipes, and anything else I feel the urge to share!

So, today brings a classic recipe!  I’ve always enjoyed banana bread, but haven’t eaten it in quite some time, due to the fat content of the usual recipes.  I was browsing the Internet and saw some low fat ones that looked scrumptious, so I decided to do some tweaking and adding, which I love doing to recipes!

Superbly Delicious Banana Bread!

1 1/2 C. Mashed banana (3 medium)

3 Tbs. Butter, softened (if you use margarine, decrease the salt to 1/4 tsp.)

3 Tbs. Unsweetened applesauce

2/3 C. Cane sugar (just my preference, you can use white sugar, too)

2 1/2 C. All purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp. Baking soda

1/2 tsp. + 1/8 tsp. Salt (or just a generous 1/2 tsp.)

1/4 tsp. + 1/8 tsp. Baking powder

3 Eggs

1/4 C. + 1/8 C. (2 Tbs.) Fat free milk

1 1/2 tsp. Cinnamon

1/4 tsp.+ 1/8 tsp. Nutmeg

1/4 C. Chopped nuts

1/3 C. Golden raisins

Instructions

1.  Preheat oven to 350°.

2.  Sift dry ingredients together; In a small dish, use a few teaspoons of the dry mixture to coat the add-ins (raisins and nuts).

3.  Beat butter and applesauce and sugar until well combined.  If you’re using cane sugar, it will look lumpy, but don’t worry, it will dissolve when the bread bakes.

4.  Add milk, mashed bananas, eggs and mix well.

5.  Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients in a couple of batches, mixing to combine after each addition.

6.  Add in the nuts and raisins (and any extra flour mixture from them), mixing until just combined.  I find it easiest to do this by hand.

7.  I use 4 mini-pans (6″x3″x2″), but you can also make larger loaves.  Spray the pan(s) first, divide the batter evenly amongst them, and top each mini loaf with 1 tsp. of cane sugar, followed by a couple dashes of ground cinnamon.

8.  Bake at 350° for 20 minutes, then lower the temperature to 325° and bake for 10 minutes.  When I do the ‘toothpick check’, it has a few crumbs on it, but I take it out anyway because it will continue to cook in the pan, as I let it sit about 10 minutes.

Notes

Please utilize the benefit of my experimentation!

1.  I have made this with fat free yogurt in place of applesauce, and I like the applesauce better.

2.  Though walnuts are normally my favorite baking nut, the first time I made this I used pecans, and think they tasted better in the bread!  It’s all personal preference, though.

3.  The second time I made this I added vanilla and – to my complete surprise – thought it better the first time around!  I know…you’re probably as shocked as I am!

4.  Make sure you add the topping of sugar and cinnamon before you pop it in the oven, instead of adding it halfway through, like I did the first time!  It makes a terrifically crunchy crust!

5.  If you’ve not made banana bread before, the more overripe the bananas, the sweeter they are!  I like them when they’re good and soft, at the “Ewww, time to throw these away!” stage.  I’ve found it easiest to mash them in a bowl with a fork before adding to the batter.

6.  I’ve tried this bread with cranberries and currants as well.  My favorite is the golden raisins!

7.  I’ve been using white whole wheat flour a lot lately, and used about half of that and half regular all purpose in this recipe.  I love the results, and no one can tell the difference!

I hope you love this recipe at much as I do!  Here’s are some pictures!  Note the sweet crispy top…it is so good!

Banana breads cooling 20140126 Banana bread CU 20140126



I look forward to a lot more blogging this year, hopefully with some fantastic recipes!  If there’s anything you’d like to see me write about, let me know in the comments!

Hugs

Katy

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

